Skip to Content

Eddie Alvarez executed some first round stoppage directly to Shinya Aoki’s face at Bellator 66

Eddie Alvarez executed some first round stoppage directly to Shinya Aoki’s face at Bellator 66

I guess the real surprise during the main event of Bellator 66 was the discovery that Eddie Alvarez officially qualifies as a ‘Blackzillian.’ We’re not sure how that’s scientifically possible, but above all else we don’t think that anyone out there has informed Eddie Alvarez’s fade of his new pseudo-nationality. Apparently once you’ve given your life over to the path of the ‘Blaczkillian’ you are automatically granted the ability to release a blitzkrieg of fists on your opponent, forcing their corner to throw in the towel in the first round.

That’s relatively the same sequence of events that occurred tonight at Bellator 66: Aoki vs. Alvarez, unfortunately for our bud Shinya Aoki, the referee was simply unable to notice the towel being thrown from his corner after Eddie Alvarez dropped him with an uppercut and finished the job with an array of mixed ground-and-pound.

On paper, Aoki’s loss tonight just denotes a need for a third Aoki vs. Alvarez III rubber-match since both fighters have a win (and a loss) against each other. We’re sure our buds at Evolve MMA will bounce back from this loss, but for tonight Eddie Alvarez and his illustrious fade reign supreme in the lightweight division. Now what does it mean that Alvarez finished Aoki in the first round, something that not even Gilbert Melendez could even accomplish? Egh, don’t drown in MMA math — you may unintentionally hurt yourself and others.

For more MMA News, Rumors and Updates follow the Red Monster on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Instagram
Rick Hawn teaches Lloyd Woodard that you should never run at him with your hands down
← Read Last Post
Sometimes violent in-cage riots happen in MMA, and at Bellator 66
Read Next Post →