Referee Big John McCarthy Weighs In On Andrade’s Slam Of Namajunas At UFC 237

Rose Namajunas Jessica Andrade
Rose Namajunas Jessica Andrade

Veteran Referee Big John MacCarthy Explains The Legality of Andrade-Namajunas Slam

UFC 237 main headliner’s ending sequence generated a mixed reaction from the MMA community as some fans believe the slam was illegal.

After a dominating first round Rose Namajunas found herself unconscious in the second round when Andrade landed a signature brutal slam knockout which went down last night (Sat, May 11, 2019) from inside Jeunesse Arena in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

The knockout was so spectacular that many were so worried if Rose was ok or not.

Landing an opponent to the canvas on the head or neck is foul in the unified MMA rules, and that’s what happened, isn’t it? In the wake of this expert referee, Big John McCarthy took to Twitter and weighs-in on the knockout.

“When Rose goes for the armbar she has a choice to either let go of the armbar or try and hold onto it and go for the ride that Andrade is going to put on her,” McCarthy wrote on Twitter. “There is no illegal slam when a submission is being attempted. It does not matter how she brings her down.”

McCarthy declares the knockout legal.

After last night’s win Brazilian Jessica Andrade now riding on a four-fight winning streak.

Meanwhile, Namajunas returned to the Octagon after over a year’s hiatus but suffered a KO loss. Before that setback, she was riding on consecutive victories over former champ Joanna Jedrzejczyk. After last night’s somewhat controversial loss ‘Thug Rose’ hinted at retirement.

Share your thoughts if the knockout slam was legal or illegal?

Published on May 12, 2019 at 10:46 am
Stay up-to-date with the latest MMA news, rumors, and updates by following the RED Monster on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and Instagram. Also, don't forget to add MiddleEasy to your Google News feed Follow us on Google News for even more coverage.


Leave a Comment