Veteran Referee Big John MacCarthy Explains The Legality of Andrade-Namajunas Slam
UFC 237 main headliner’s ending sequence generated a mixed reaction from the MMA community as some fans believe the slam was illegal.
After a dominating first round Rose Namajunas found herself unconscious in the second round when Andrade landed a signature brutal slam knockout which went down last night (Sat, May 11, 2019) from inside Jeunesse Arena in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
The knockout was so spectacular that many were so worried if Rose was ok or not.
Landing an opponent to the canvas on the head or neck is foul in the unified MMA rules, and that’s what happened, isn’t it? In the wake of this expert referee, Big John McCarthy took to Twitter and weighs-in on the knockout.
“When Rose goes for the armbar she has a choice to either let go of the armbar or try and hold onto it and go for the ride that Andrade is going to put on her,” McCarthy wrote on Twitter. “There is no illegal slam when a submission is being attempted. It does not matter how she brings her down.”
Corey what’s up! No my friend that is not a spike. Any throw with an arc, lift can be brought down in any fashion. Rose held onto kimura grip. A spike is a 12-6 motion feet up/head down where you control your opponent. Think tombstone/pile-driver. Thank you hope you’re well. https://t.co/NzAun3vjoy
— Marc Goddard (@marcgoddard_uk) May 12, 2019
McCarthy declares the knockout legal.
When Rose goes for the armbar she has a choice to either let go of the armbar or try and hold onto it and go for the ride that Andrade is going to put on her. There is no illegal slam when a submission is being attempted. It does not matter how she brings her down #AskBJM https://t.co/eBgvzcdZBY
— Big John McCarthy (@JohnMcCarthyMMA) May 12, 2019
After last night’s win Brazilian Jessica Andrade now riding on a four-fight winning streak.
Meanwhile, Namajunas returned to the Octagon after over a year’s hiatus but suffered a KO loss. Before that setback, she was riding on consecutive victories over former champ Joanna Jedrzejczyk. After last night’s somewhat controversial loss ‘Thug Rose’ hinted at retirement.
Share your thoughts if the knockout slam was legal or illegal?
Join our list
Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.