Skip to Content

Patrick Cote inadvertently uses the back of his head to get a first round finish at UFC 154

Patrick Cote inadvertently uses the back of his head to get a first round finish at UFC 154

Folks, you can’t blame Alessio Sakara for going for a critical hit bonus and hitting Patrick Cote in the back of the head roughly eight times during their UFC 154 bout in Montreal. In any other first person shooter, Sakara would have unlocked an Xbox Live achievement, but under the unified rules of the UFC — striking your opponent to the back of the head just doesn’t fly. In any situation, it doesn’t fly. Strikes to the back of the head don’t have wings or an on-board jet propulsion system. They just reside in the realm of fights, and when they land — it hurts.

I don’t think I’ve ever heard a crowd get so amped up for a fighter than everyone inside the Bell Centre in Montreal did for Patrick Cote. The noise emitted from these Canadian fans doesn’t even compare to Urijah Faber walking out in Sacramento when he fought Brian Bowles at UFC 139. It was simply on another level. A level filled with indiscernible sound.

Although it wasn’t the greatest win, Patrick Cote pulled off the first round disqualification in his home town — and hopefully will pull ‘Knockout of the Night’ honors later tonight.

For more MMA News, Rumors and Updates follow the Red Monster on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Instagram
Renzo Gracie Tweeted about his latest zany adventure...
← Read Last Post
Johny Hendricks used his fist to sledge hammer yet another first round knockout at UFC 154
Read Next Post →