Paulie Malignaggi On His Loss To Artem Lobov: “I Pretty Much Got The Worst Of Everything”

Paulie Malignaggi Bkfc
Paulie Malignaggi BkFC 6

Paulie Malignaggi Says ‘He Got Shit Decision’ At BKFC 6

Bare-knuckle fistfighting (BKFC 6) went down last night (Sat, June 22, 2019) from inside the Florida State Fairgrounds Expo Center from Tampa, Florida live on FITE.TV pay-per-view (PPV). A former pro boxer Paulie Malignaggi came up short against his rival Artem Lobov who picked up a decision win after five bloody rounds of war.

In the opening frame, Lobov jumped in for clinches while Paulie Malignaggi continues with light body work. Former boxer came in with force in the second round landed crisp jabs and a mighty right hand on Lobov.

Malignaggi played well in Round 3, but “Russian Hammer” at the end lands a solid left that had “Magic Man” dropped into the ropes. By fourth, Lobov brought in pressure and landing. A big right from Lobov. Malignaggi loses his control.

In the final round, Malignaggi back to evade Lobov’s jabs. Artem Lobov delivers good work to the body, but many of those big shots hit the air. Malignaggi played his game and stayed survived.

Despite Malignaggi’s defensive efforts, strikes and tricks, Lobov walk away with the win.

‘Magic Man’ Malignaggi however, not agreed with the outcomes of the match and has let the world know about his inner thoughts at the post-fight presser. (h/t MMAMania)

“I pretty much got the worst of everything because I got a shit decision and I made a tic-tac-toe board out of his face with my left hand,” Malignaggi said. “Look at my face, I got hit literally in one clinch. In one clinch, I got hit and that’s it. I took a couple of shots in that one clinch that he got me, I thought I did a pretty good job in clinches other than that, and really nothing else landed. I was very comfortable boxing.

“Luckily, I have experience fighting with one hand from earlier in my career, breaking my right hand so many times, so even when my right hand was gone I thought I boxed very well in three, four, and five. He got me in the clinch in three, but other than that I thought four and five—I mean five he didn’t land at all. I was popping him with jabs and check left hooks constantly. You want to give him four, I don’t think you can, but I guess if they want to give it to him.”

Paulie Malignaggi played defender and landed some useful strikes, but Lobov was a more active fighter changed his stance in last rounds to get the best of a former boxer. Malignaggi gave Lobov credit for landing some good shots, however, wasn’t agreed that Lobov had done enough to win final rounds.

“Ironically, the judges gave me the first two rounds and then after three they didn’t give me a round. Again, bush league shit, because I got cut in round three. Once the bush league shit came in they literally only scored my blood. The same shit was happening, he was getting out-boxed very easily, but now I was cut.

“And clearly the bush league judges scored the blood and not the actual fight or what was happening, because realistically nothing else happened aside from that clinch where he definitely got me with some good shots.”

Share your thoughts do you think Lobov had done enough work to score a win?

For more MMA News, Rumors and Updates follow the Red Monster on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Instagram

Join our list

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here