Skip to Content

Blast to the Past: Takanori Gomi gets dropped, then graciously picks up the ref’s pen

Blast to the Past: Takanori Gomi gets dropped, then graciously picks up the ref’s pen

Occasionally I compose articles for a small minority of extremely hardcore MMA fans that will stop at nothing to ingest every morsel of combative sport goodness. In this case, if you can’t appreciate the eloquent nature of Takanori Gomi picking up a referee’s pen seconds after he was dropped by a head kick, then this article is probably not for you. This clip was taken from Takanori Gomi’s fight against Takuya Kuwabara at Shooto: Renaxis 1 on March 28th 1999 — Gomi’s third professional fight.

We can’t even begin to tell you the amount of questions this clip brings up. Primarily, why the heck does a referee have a pen inside of a ring in the first place — better yet, why was it stored in a pocket protector? When Gomi attempts to give the pen back, at what point does the ref actually take it back? We can’t seem to pinpoint it, but it literally appears to be in Gomi’s hand then virtually disappears. Also, what’s going on with the standing eight count in MMA? Despite Gomi being dropped with a well-placed head kick, he went on to win his bout against Takuya Kuwabara via unanimous decision. This video will probably be the greatest thing we publish today on MiddleEasy, and props to @FightSummary for making it.

For more MMA News, Rumors and Updates follow the Red Monster on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Instagram
This is the only Vinny Magalhaes promo you need to get hyped for UFC 159
This is the only Vinny Magalhaes promo you need to get hyped for UFC 159
← Read Last Post
Oh wow, Shinya Aoki vs. Kron Gracie is going down at Metamoris II, no gi!
Oh wow, Shinya Aoki vs. Kron Gracie is going down at Metamoris II, no gi!
Read Next Post →