Controversy around KSI’s latest KO win has been kicked to the curb.
Just a week ago, the YouTube boxing sensation scored a massive knockout of Joe Fournier to remain undefeated in the ring, However, there was one big issue with how the fight played out: the finishing blow was an illegal elbow, not a punch.
The PBA’s Decision
While KSI got his hand raised at the event, the questionable result wouldn’t stick for long as Fournier’s fast appeal was approved by the Professional Boxing Association on Friday.
“Mr Fournier had submitted a protest and SI responded following KSl’s Technical
Knockout win in the second round of the fight,” the PBA said in a press release. “After a thorough review of the evidence and representations, along with the assistance of Mr Micky Vann (the Supervisor in charge) and an eminent Barrister (Mr Gul Nawaz Hussain KC of 33 Bedford Row Chambers, London) where necessary, Mr Morris came to an independent decision.
“Even though KSI was winning the fight, the blow with the forearm/elbow has been
found to be accidental and the obvious disappointment that will follow, it has been
decided that the contest is declared a No Decision in accordance with the Rules.
The PBA has conducted the review properly, fairly and with legal assistance
throughout as the bout was sanctioned and regulated under the unified rules of
boxing. We have ensured that this process was conducted swiftly and fairly to
uphold the integrity of boxing.”
KSI didn’t seem too bothered by his KO win being overturned to a ‘no decision’.
“Still undefeated,” KSI wrote on Twitter. “Feels good man.”
Still undefeated. Feels good man 😍 https://t.co/LRKX3NJewV
— ksi (@KSI) May 19, 2023
We’ll see if the star continues his (still) undefeated streak the next time he steps into the boxing ring.